Letter from Fr. Dennis Billy

 

November 8, 2011

Dear Family and Friends,

After almost 51/2 weeks in isolation at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, 7 days of which were in the ICU, my doctors are pleased with my progress and are ready to discharge me.  I’ll be a free man on Wednesday November 9th.  In the coming months, I’ll be staying at the Redemptorist community on 61st Street in Manhattan and will be treated two or three times a week at the hospital’s out-patient clinic.

I’m writing to thank you from the bottom of my heart for all the prayerful support you have shown me during my bone marrow transplant. I have felt accompanied by your gentle care and concern all through the process.  Since I’m still not out of the woods yet, I ask for your continued prayers.  Please pray specifically that I steer clear of infections during the fall and winter months and that any unwanted side effects of the transplant be kept to a minimum.

Once again, I thank you for accompanying me during this very difficult time in my life.  May God bless you for your thoughtfulness, care, and kindness.

Blessings,

Fr. Dennis

Dennis J. Billy, C.Ss.R.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

