Lay Centre Alumna: H. E. Dr. Irena Vaisvilaité

irena039H. E. Dr. Irena Vaisvilaité, currently the Lithuanian Ambassador to the Holy See, recently wrote us about her experience of living at The Lay Centre:

“I came to Rome as a researcher in 1990 and decided to stay on to do further studies in Church history at the Pontifical Gregorian University. Right at the start of the academic year, I was still looking for a place to stay; luck had it that I was assigned the last vacant room at The Lay Centre.

My stay there taught me a great deal: I had to learn English, figure out how to cook dinner for 12 on a limited budget (in those days, students took turns to shop and cook) and learn to live with people from around the world.

The Lay Centre was my home for five years: I lived in community, prayed, explored the city of Rome, and made friendships that have lasted my whole life. I think I owe my love of the Church to The Lay Centre.”

Also interesting: Read our Autumn Newsletter (PDF)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

